2017 SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards

The SAASE Convention and Annual Meeting was held in North Battleford, hosted by the Battlefords Agricultural Society - February 24th and 25th. Each year in conjunction with the convention SAASE recognizes the volunteers that have contributed so much to our Agricultural Societies and their communities. Over the last number of years SAASE has partnered with SaskEnergy on the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards.

This year awards were presented to the Volunteer of the Year, SAASE Honorary Life Members and Agricultural Society anniversary Awards. This year's Anniversary Awards were presented to Saskatoon Prairieland Park for 130 Years, The Stoughton Agricultural society for 120 Years and the Abernethy Agricultural society for 110 Years.

The Honorary Life Membership award is based on a member's lifetime contribution to the local Agricultural Society, to the community in which they live, to the Province of Saskatchewan and, where applicable, to the national scene. This year 4 long time volunteers were made SAASE Honorary Life Members. Peter Bygrove from the Lloydminster Exhibition, John Eberle from the Battlefords Agricultural Society, Annette Horne from the Shaunavon - Admiral Agricultural Society and Lawrence Bodnar from the Prince Albert Exhibition.

The Volunteer of the Year award is an award that may be presented annually. The volunteer of the Year is based on leadership qualities, innovative ideas and exceptional service to the Agricultural Society, as well as involvement or participation in agricultural society related industry and knowledge of and dedication to. The year's Volunteer of the Year was Rhonda Erickson from the Battlefords Agricultural



Proudly supporting SAASE and their volunteers who share their time, energy and spirit across Saskatchewan.



Champion of Volunteers

Society. Congratulations to all of our winners and thanks to those Agricultural Societies that submitted nominations. Thanks go out to MLA for the Battlefords Herb Cox for presenting the awards on behalf of SaskEnergy, and thanks to SaskEnergy for once again sponsoring the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards.



MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present Susan Kuzma with Prairieland Park's 130th Anniversary



MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present Peter Bygrove with an Honorary Life Membership.



MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present Rhonda Erickson with the Volunteer of the Year Award.



MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present Lawrence Bodnar's Honorary Life Membership to Linda Grimard from Prince Albert









MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present John Eberle with an Honorary Life Membership.







MLA Herb Cox and SAASE President Vern Bexson present Catherine Barnsley and Nancy Garratt Abernethy's 110th Anniversary Award