SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards - 2021/2022

Volunteers Celebrated at the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards

This year the SAASE Annual Convention was in partnership with the Canadian Association of Fairs and Exhibitions. Each year, in conjunction with the convention, SAASE recognizes the volunteers that have contributed so much to our Agricultural Societies and their communities through the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards. In addition to partnering on the convention with CAFE - the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards took place the same evening as the CAFE National Awards.

This awards banquet took place on Thursday November 17 at the Doubletree Hotel in Regina. This year's awards were presented to the Volunteer of the Year, SAASE Honorary Life Members and Achievement of the Year.

The Honorary Life Membership award is based on a member's lifetime contribution to the local Agricultural Society, to the community in which they live, to the Province of Saskatchewan and, where applicable, to the national scene. This year SAASE would like to congratulate Myrtle Chambers from the Maryfield Agricultural Society. Myrtle has worked tirelessly to make her community a better place and is very deserving of receiving SAASE's Honorary Life Membership Award. SAASE would also like to congratulate Mike Sidoryk who spent 40 years working at the



SAASE Vice President Christy Vodicka presents Lloydminster's Mike Sidoryk his SAASE Honorary Life Membership Award



Lloydminster Exhibition's General Manager Jackie Tomayer accepts the Achievement of the Year Award from SAASE Vice President Christy Vodicka for the North American Chuckwagon Championships

Lloydminster Exhibition and contributed so much to fair industry in Saskatchewan, Alberta and across Canada.

The Volunteer of the Year award is an award that may be presented annually. The volunteer of the Year is based on leadership qualities, innovative ideas and exceptional service to the Agricultural Society, as well as involvement or participation in agricultural society related industry and knowledge of and dedication to. The year's Volunteers of the Year were Ray and Michelle Foy from the Lloydminster Exhibition - recognized for their tireless volunteer work.

The Achievements of the Year is an award presented to the Agricultural Society organization who is deemed to have achieved the most significant achievement during the year. Achievement is a special accomplishment such as:

- the introduction of a notable new idea or concept;
- a major facilities or grounds development;
- dealing with extreme adversity;
- involvement with industry partners;
- demonstrated community support for the organization.

This year SAASE recognized two Agricultural Societies for their major achievements - the Yorkton Exhibition for the Legacy Grandstand Project and the Lloydminster Exhibition for the North American Chuckwagon Championships Congratulations to all of our winners and thanks to those Agricultural Societies that submitted nominations. SAASE would like to thank SaskEnergy for their continued involvement with the Volunteer Champion Award Program and helping us to recognize the hard working volunteers that make our communities the great places that they are to live.

In addition to the awards - SAASE unveiled a 100th Anniversary print created by Saskatchewan Artist and long time volunteer for the Regina Exhibition - Rollie Bourassa



SAASE Vice President Christy Vodicka presents Yorkton Exhibition's Manager Barb Woytas the Achievement of the Year for the Lagacy Grandstand Project



SAASE Executive Director Glen Duck unveils the SAASE 100th Anniversary Print - held by SAASE President Wade Jensen and introduces Rollie Bourassa - Saskatchewan artist and long time volunteer at the Regina Exhibition.