2018 SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards

The SAASE Convention and Annual Meeting was held in Weyburn at the Royal Canadian Legion Hall, hosted by the Weyburn Agricultural Society - February 23rd and 24th. Each year, in conjunction with the convention, SAASE recognizes the volunteers that have contributed so much to our Agricultural Societies and their communities. Over the last number of years SAASE has partnered with SaskEnergy on the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards.

This year awards were presented to the Volunteer of the Year, SAASE Honorary Life Members and Agricultural Society Anniversary Awards. This year's Anniversary Awards were presented to the Weyburn Agricultural Society for 110 Years and Nipawin Exhibition for 90 Years of continuous service to their communities.

The Honorary Life Membership award is based on a member's lifetime contribution to the local Agricultural Society, to the community in which they live, to the Province of Saskatchewan and, where applicable, to the national scene. This year 4 long time volunteers were made SAASE Honorary Life Members - Neal and Rae Keefe from the Weyburn Agricultural Society and Doreen and Mike Babecy from the Kelvington Agricultural Society.



Honorary Life Members - Neal and Rae Keefe from the Weyburn Agricultural delegates at the SaskEnergy Volunteer Champion Awards

The Volunteer of the Year award is an award that may be presented annually. The volunteer of the Year is based on leadership qualities, innovative ideas and exceptional service to the Agricultural Society, as well as involvement or participation in agricultural society related industry and knowledge of and dedication to. The year's Volunteer of the Year was Michael Patrick from the Kelvington Agricultural Society. Congratulations to all of our winners and thanks to those Agricultural Societies that submitted nominations. SAASE would like to thank SaskEnergy for their



continued involvement with the Volunteer Champion Award Program and helping us to recognize the hard working volunteers that make our communities the great places that they are to live. Also a big thanks to Michelle Giroux from SaskEnergy who helped present this year's awards at the SAASE Convention in Weyburn.



Michelle Giroux (left) and SAASE President Jocelyn Ritchie (right) present an Honorary Life Membership Award to Doreen Babecy - accepting for herself and husband Mike from the Kelvington Agricultural Society. Michelle Giroux (2nd from the left) and SAASE President Jocelyn Ritchie (right) present an Honorary Life Membership Award to Neal (left) and Rae Keefe (2nd from the right) from the Weyburn Agricultural Society.



Michelle Giroux (left) and SAASE President Jocelyn Ritchie (right) present the SAASE 110th Anniversary Award to Jeff Clay - President of the Weyburn Agricultural Society.

Michelle Giroux (left) and SAASE President Jocelyn Ritchie (right) present the Volunteer of the Year Award to Michael Patrick from the Kelvington Agricultural Society